toto through the ages

26 April 2006 at 22:41 (toto)

I didn’t realise that toto was a latin word (though it isn’t surprising).

From Latin Words:

tot.o ADJ 1 3 ABL S N POS
totus, tota, totum (gen -ius) ADJ [XXXCX]
whole, all, entire, total, complete; every part; all together/at once;

it was reading a journal article when I came across this rather long sentence:

‘However, the problem with these studies is that it is questionable whether the results can be generalized to amphetamine users in toto, for they have only investigated amphetamine use in extreme-use samples – not community or population samples that include all users but mostly or only users who belong to a subculture in which heavy (intravenous) use is the norm.’

So, looks like I’ll be throwing that phrase into my essays. The power of toto brings about a touch of sophistication.

11 Comments

  1. nimeton said,

    Grrrrr.

  2. toto said,

    ruff, ruff, RUFF!

    *giggle*

  3. Kent said,

    LOL. You are all, we are merely parts.

  4. nimeton said,

    ;-)

  5. toto said,

    well, strictly speaking toto is all. toto is more than an alter ego, it is a European lotto giant, a Melbourne pizza restaurant, a Japanese toilet maker.. the list goes on. sometimes it is even hard to define. It is definitely more than a little doggie, but at the same time that little dog is central to toto.

    I was thinking along the lines of..
    toto encompasses all that I really am. there is no matty, matty is just a poorly defined sub-set of the real creature. A draft, an underlying and largely redundant subsystem. toto is all that there really is here. but that’s clearly pretty ego-centric and whacked.. The talk of a crazy man. quite acceptable for my current deluded state of mind.. (also, note: I have a toto category on my blog now)

  6. nimeton said,

    oh that bloody little dog. if i ever catch it i’ll probably kick it… or get in my car and … hrmmm.

    that dog. grrrr.

    toto reminds me of a disease… a bit like an alien invasion.

  7. Kent said,

    If you’re toto, then who’s Dorothy?

  8. cfsmtb said,

    Who really blesses the rain down in Africa?

  9. toto said,

    Kent: I guess Sparky logically plays the part of Dorothy..

    cfsmtb: “I know that I must do what’s right”
    *runs outside to do rain dance*

  10. Kent said,

    Dare I ask who the Wicked You-Know-Who is?

  11. toto said,

    errr… I’m not sure.. R3P1N5 nominated that he would be the scarecrow…

Leave a Reply

