don’t wake me

16 August 2005 at 17:49 (General)

A few weeks ago I had a dream. I was lying in a bed next to this girl from my course. We were just chatting with this other bloke who was lying on another bed in the motel room. I started writing poetry on the girls arm and back. Things seemed really good. Then she had to leave for a moment to go to the toilet or something. While she was gone the other guy got up and started going through her stuff. He was being really rude, perverted. He heard her coming back so he rushed back to his bed and pretended nothing happened.

It didn’t take long for her to notice things were out of place and she gave me this look saying “Has that guy been going through my stuff?” I returned a look saying “yeah, lets get out of here”, so we picked up our gear and left the other bloke while he was halfway through a sentence.

===>

Then, a few nights later I had another dream. It was a very rainy day and I was inside. The phone rang, it was another blogger. No one I actually know, just someone who’s blog I visit infrequently.. I doubt she reads this page.

Anyway.. it’s wouldn’t be entirely impossible for her to get hold of my number, but she wouldn’t. Despite this we had a marvelous little chat. Then my house became increasingly busy, full of visiting relatives. I couldn’t maintain the conversation with her because people kept asking me stuff. I went to go outside, but Sparky got out and started swimming around in the floodwaters.

It was still too noisy with the torrential rain so I had to end the call and promise to ring her back sometime when my house was less chaotic. When I woke up it struck me how weird it was that I’d invented a voice for this person and created dialogue based on the little I know about them from reading their site.

===>

This morning I was woken from a dream and as the last image disappeared from my mind I could ‘see’ the final image’s file path (i could see it’s URL as the image slid out of view). It was weird, for a moment I was convinced that dreams were all flash based. I thought about resurrecting the final scene by turning on a computer and seeing if I could find that URL in the browser history.

4 Comments

  1. Deirdre said,

    Did you look up the URL? What if it actually exists? … That would be very weird.

    Half your luck having such interesting dreams. I can’t even remember mine.

  2. toto said,

    nah, it was one of those http;//site/folder/file/45%0f5464047&c5da.jpg urls. (buried in my subconscious until I pay for hypnotherapy)

    I feel somewhat disturbed that my dreams are becoming more technologic.

  3. D said,

    Sorry, this is probably me being techno-dopey, but is that link supposed to go somewhere?

  4. toto said,

    no… it was meant to look like something generic (site/folder/file…) and then a whole heap of hog-wash that I had no chance of remembering. Now it should link to something though

Leave a Reply

