24 May 2005 at 8:39 (General)

Via kenty
Total Volume Of Music On My Computer
8.91 G, 2157 songs, 5.7 days, but that includes a few podcasts (mainly hack and Dr Karl from triple j

The Last CD I Bought
Live From The Middle East, by The Mighty Mighty Bosstones.
closely followed by a Living End single and some Cypress Hill

Song Playing Right Now
Little Acorns by The White Stripes off of their fantastic album Elephant which is fantastic.

5 songs I listen to a lot, or that mean a lot to me
The Living End – all torn down
Radiohead – idioteque
James Taylor – fire and rain
Pearl Jam – evolution (do the evolution?) – I don’t have a copy of this, yet.
Xavier Rudd – let me be

but iTunes tells me I listen to a lot of Electronica. Lots of the Chemical Brothers and my Sonic Animation album, Radiohead and Air. Good background noise.

3 people to whom I’m passing the baton
Deirdre, Nimetôn and Teddy. But feel free just to leave it lying in the grass… I normally would.

8 Comments

  1. Nimeton said,

    Hrmm I tend not to comment on my music tastes anymore because I feel I leave myself open to a lot of criticism. Maybe I shouldn’t be so self concious. But then again — Maybe it’s just a lazy factor. I like lots of different stuff, I like listening to heaps of new stuff. But can I be bothered to remember an artists name or even a song name? In many cases no. I guess i enjoy consuming music rather than being a dedicated fan of music.

    I shall give this more thought. Something I’ve been planning to do is make a cd of random songs I like… I really should do this but it involves locating the songs and locating the details of all the songs…

  2. Nimeton said,

    I’ll answer question 1 and 2 however:
    Total Volume Of Music On My Computer:
    Quite a bit, hundereds.

    The Last CD I Bought;
    South Park in Year 9. Wow, i could have spent my money in so many other wonderful ways but nope… I felt the need to light a match and burn it.

  3. toto said,

    thanks for sharing. You shouldn’t feel scared to share you opinions on what good music is. I bet kent would love to get his hands on my Cypress Hill CD, and not to listen to it… Everyone’s entitled to an opinion, even if they’re wrong!

    Last night I put on a Radiohead CD during dinner, (I might be wrong, live). Dad and Mum amused themselves paying it out and paying me out for my choice in music. They appeared to really not understand anything youth orientated, or anything slightly abstract. I wasn’t really upset by their taunting. If they want to hide in their musical safety zone with their classical genre or 70’s alternative rock than it’s their loss.

    The same goes with your taste. In the past you’ve said you like matchbox 20, kent and I have told you we think it’s crap but that’s just an opinion. As i’ve alluded, kent and I disagree on what we think is good as well, kent loves to hate my System of a Down and for a long time I found nick cave hard to stomach.

  4. Deirdre said,

    Oh, bloody hell… I’m scared of looking like a dinosaur. Plus I’m a bit like you, Nimeton, and don’t remember names. Plus I doubt you’d recognise any of mine any more than I’d recognise any of yours. (You DO know I’m 503 years old, yeah?)

    Thanks for passing this on, toto. I’ll do it. Probably. If I can think of anything not too infinitely daggy.
    :)

  5. toto said,

    Be daggy, be different, be 503. I don’t expect to know who you are talking about but I don’t expect you know who i’m talking about. But then again, I listen to a lot of music with my dad so I’m not totally lost in my generation. Just a lot of his music doesn’t appear in my collection.

    Like I said, this is the sort of thing I wouldn’t normally touch. Feel fine to leave it in the grass. but I’d prefer you do so because you can’t be bothered, not because you feel shy.

  6. Kent said,

    503?

  7. matty said,

    (young Deirdre revealed that she’s 503 years old in her comment)

  8. Deirdre said,

    Matty! That turned out to be fun. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

