At what cost?

8 May 2005 at 22:51 (General)

the joys of self inflicted insomnia.
all work and no play makes jack a something something.

At what cost?
What is the price of wisdom?
This depends on the value of sanity,
you can’t feel the pain,
the pressure on the brain,
the numbness prevents the profanity.

Closing my eyes lifts the pressure.
I wish I could close off my mind.
My wick’s burnt at both ends,
Sleep’s like a lost friend.
I just never seem to have time.

Into the next day I stumble,
my fluro hummms through the night.
The sun glazes the hill,
I’ve run out of zeal,
but I still have to face the daylight.

matty 8-5-05

4 Comments

  1. Deirdre said,

    Caffeine. It’s the answer. :)

    (And this place is looking GORGEOUS now.)

  2. toto said,

    caffeine causes the numbness and the dull, continuous, thumping, debilitating headache. As boring as they are, sleep and time management are the answer :(

    And I owe the good looks of the blog to it’s theme’s creator Jeff Wheeler.

  3. Deirdre said,

    Numbness? Headache?? No, no, no… you’re just not getting ENOUGH caffeine. Some good Australian coffee is what you need. Alternatively sleep and time management might be a good idea, but caffeine’s quick! It’s easy! You can have it with sugar! Where’s the dilemma?

    And Jeff Wheeler has a good eye. These colours and shapes are very pleasant.

  4. toto said,

    You sell the idea of coffee so well, unfortunately it doesn’t really help me get through the work any faster. Perhaps I should pop some speed… where’s the dilemma :P (joking)

    Nah, I can feel I’m straining a muscle in my eye which always sucks. Need rest now :)

Leave a Reply

