disbelief

29 March 2005 at 4:32 (General)

My sister comes into my room at about 3:10am to tell me there’s been another large earthquake, magnitude 8.2 in around the same area that the December quake was. We walk out to the lounge to see if there’s any news on the telly. flicking through the channels we see, Infomercial, weather screen, advertisement, crap and crap. On the second run through I hear the word ‘earthquake’ and I quickly shuffle back to the station it was heard from. There is a comedian up on stage doing a gag about how Californians don’t need to worry about quakes. Could the timing be worse?

guess I’ll wait till tomorrow afternoon to see how this pans out. Obviously thoughts are with all those who are going to be affected, particularly with my uncle and other volunteers are helping to rebuild.

3 Comments

  1. Kent said,

    well done, you are a breaking news blog for me.

    http://earthquake.usgs.gov/eqinthenews/2005/usweax/

  2. toto said,

    Cheers for the link.

    I didn’t wan’t to try to advise people on the best source for info… and I figured I had better things I should have been doing at 3:30ish

  3. Kent said,

    There are definitely better things I could be doing at the moment.

Leave a Reply

